College Readiness and Questions

The college process is so confusing and can be frustrating, maddening and overwhelming.  We hope the following will help with any questions you may have and if you have further questions, please contact your counselor!   

       Counselor            Alphabet                  Email          Phone 
  Mrs. Miller              A  - C    kmiller3@nsd.org   425.408.7420  
  Mrs. Lamb               D - H    klamb@nsd.org 425.408.7421
  Mr. Churchill                I - Mi    schurchill@nsd.org 425.408.7423
  Mr. Hirsch            Mo - Sh    nhirsch@nsd.org 425.408.7422
  Mrs. Brenner             Si  - Z    sbrenner@nsd.org 425.408.7506
  Mrs. Krochmalny   

    College, Career & Running Start  

   rkrochmalny@nsd.org .   425.408.7428

 

Directions for College Application Process (PDF)
Senior Application "Cheat Sheet"
High School & Beyond Plan

College Time Line

How do I find Money for college?

How do I choose the right college or university?

2-year Community and Technical Colleges

Over 1000 across the US

  • Everyone can attend! 
  • Semesters (Fall/Spring)
  • Quarters (Fall/Winter/Spring)
  • No ACT or SAT required
  • Typically Smaller class sizes
  • Must take an assessment test
  • Less tuition than 4-year college or universities
  • Offers transfer degree programs
  • Offers vocational certification programs
  • Offers 4-year college degrees on campus. 

Local Community Colleges

Bellevue Community College

Cascadia Community College

Edmonds Community College

Everett Community College

Lake Washington Inst of Tech

Shoreline Community College

Whatcom Community College

 

 

 

 

4-Year Colleges!

  • Must be accepted 
  • Semesters or Quarters
  • Must take ACT or SAT (for most)
  • Class sizes can be upward to (400+)
  • Tuition varies (public and private)
  • Offers 4-year degree programs

Local Universities

Central Washington University

Digipen

Eastern Washington University

Evergreen University

Gonzaga

University of Washington

University of Washington (Bothell)

Washington State University

Western Washington University

Whitworth University

 

 

College Visits

How and when do I apply?